top of page

MRKH Malaysia

I was 13, and 4 years later I was diagnosed with MRKH Syndrome. Fast forward to present: This year, god willing, I will be turning 33. Today, MRKH Malaysia (the support group I founded when I was 30 years old) has 30 members. That is a lot to me, as there is only 1 MRKH woman in every 5,000 women all around the world. This month we will be having our third annual gathering and our first session ever with medical experts. Thanks to my MRKH sisters, finally we have gynaecologists, doctors, and professors on board. It used to be a dream. I am excited and I am grateful. There were times when I questioned myself; "Is this important, Wani? Is this support group necessary, worth starting? Or is it just you feeling all these? Is this just about you?" Then, from time to time, once in a while, I have strangers coming to me, in tears. Mothers, scared and almost embarrassed, finding it difficult to digest the truth about their newly-diagnosed MRKH daughters. Sisters, worrying about the mental-physical health and the future of their MRKH siblings. And so I reassure myself; "Wani, this is important. You are on the right track."


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page