top of page

Not the End of the World

I'll be honest with you (AND THIS IS NOT HUMBLE BRAGGING); I spent the first days of 2020 mentally beating myself up to anxiety like an idiot. Because I failed to come up with a new book throughout 2019. I was ridiculously disappointed with myself. I've always made it my personal goal to have my writings published either in a solo book or an anthology at least once a year. I had been pretty consistent since 2011. But last year, I had none. I could, actually, but I hate cincai work, so- no new book for me. Boo hoo. Being my worst critic and feeling painfully unsatisfied, I started scrutinizing WHY THE HELL was I unable to come up with a book. I began to do the math:⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀ Hmm. Ok.⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀ So turns out, throughout 2019-⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀ I conducted and participated in 11 workshops and discussions related to writing and creativity⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀ I performed my music and poetry at 18 gigs and festivals including in JB, Penang, Makassar, Banggai, and Melbourne⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀ I represented Malaysia in Indonesia and Australia ⠀⠀ I spoke about MRKH Syndrome on 1 radio station, 4 tv programs, 6 awareness events, and 7 print media⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀ I presented my advocacy work at 1 public forum and 1 global conference⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀ On top of all these, ⠀⠀⠀ I GOT MARRIED, ⠀⠀⠀ and my child entered PRIMARY SCHOOL.⠀⠀⠀ ⠀⠀⠀ No wonder. ⠀⠀⠀ Jadi Wani, dah-dahlah tu. ⠀⠀⠀ Bukan kiamat pun satu tahun takda buku baru.



Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page